Jefferson Memorial

375px-Jefferson_Memorial_At_Dusk_1The Thomas Jefferson Memorial is dedicated to Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States. The neoclassical building was designed by the architect John Russell Pope and built by the Philadelphia contractor John McShain. Construction of the building began in 1939 and was completed in 1943. The bronze statue of Jefferson was added in 1947.